Next Generation
Batteries
Next Generation
Batteries

Lithium-free batteries for 100% renewables

100% renewable energies day & night for a fairer and cleaner world for future generations – this is the greatest challenge of our time. With the development of cost-effective and resource-saving battery storage solutions for stationary applications, VoltStorage is making an important contribution to a climate-friendly future.

why battery solutions beyond lithium are needed

New York Skyline

10.65 TWh

are needed to power 100% of the USA by batteries for 24 hours

2,665%

of the annual lithium production volume
would be needed to provide this amount of electricity
from lithium batteries alone.

VoltStorage – shaping the future of energy storage

With our multi-technology approach, we create pioneering solutions for shaping the future of battery storage beyond lithium. We focus particularly on resource-saving, cost-efficient and climate-friendly battery storage technologies. For a fairer and cleaner world for future generations.

Resource-saving technologies

With the iron salt battery technology, we are using an iron-based storage medium – and thus one of the most abundant materials in the world.

World’s cheapest battery solution

With the pioneering iron salt battery technology, we are striving to develop the world’s cheapest stationary battery, with storage costs of 50€ per kWh.

CO2-saving battery systems

With the vanadium redox flow technology we are using a proven battery technology that requires 37% less CO2 emissions throughout production than comparable lithium based batteries.

Technologies of the “Next Generation Batteries”

Forschungslabor

Vanadium redox flow technology

The vanadium redox flow technology was developed by the US space agency NASA in the 1970s. With its international team of experts, VoltStorage has taken this resource-saving storage technology to a new level in recent years.

Iron salt technology

Unrivaled 50€ per kWh: The iron salt technology is destined to shape the future of battery storage beyond lithium, because of the widely available and low-cost iron-based storage medium.

Two VoltStorage Researcher in the Laboratory

numerous applications

Thanks to our multi-technology approach, we are developing next generation batteries across the entire range of applications: residential, commercial, and grid-scale. This is how we are making an important contribution to a climate-friendly future.

Commercial storage

With the vanadium redox flow and the iron salt technology, we have two options in the medium term to enable commercial customers with different energy demands to cover their base load during periods of low wind energy or low solar energy production.

Large-scale solutions

The iron salt battery technology is ideal for large-scale solar parks or wind farms and will become mandatory for viable business models in the future.

Weltkarte

High-temperature environments

High ambient temperatures have so far prevented the adoption of battery storage systems in regions of the world where it is required the most. With the iron salt technology, we are developing a battery technology that is particularly well suited for high ambient temperature environments worldwide.

voltstorage is technology market leader

VoltStorage is the leading technology company for stationary flow batteries. With its international research and development team and the largest operating fleet of flow batteries in the world, VoltStorage has accumulated extensive expertise and experience which we continue to leverage to stay at the forefront of flow battery technology.

Next Generation
Batteries
Next Generation
Batteries

Lithium-Freie Batteriespeicher für 100% Erneuerbare Energien

100% Erneuerbare Energien rund um die Uhr für eine fairere und sauberere Welt für die kommenden Generationen – das ist die große Herausforderung unserer Zeit. Mit der Entwicklung von kostengünstigen und ressourcenschonenden Batteriespeichern ohne jegliche Verwendung von Lithium leistet VoltStorage einen wichtigen Beitrag für eine klimafreundliche Zukunft.

Warum Alternativen zu lithium Notwendig sind

1,6 TWh

werden benötigt, um beispielsweise Deutschland für 24 Stunden mit Strom zu versorgen.

400 %

der jährlichen Lithium-Fördermenge
würde man benötigen, um diese Strommenge
allein durch Lithium-Batterien bereitzustellen.

Zitat vom VoltStorage CEO

VoltStorage – Wegbereiter lithium-freier Batteriespeicher

Mit unserem multi-technologischen Ansatz schaffen wir wegweisende Batterielösungen ohne die Verwendung von Lithium. Dabei setzen wir auf ressourcenschonende, kostengünstige und klimafreundliche Speichertechnologien. Für eine fairere und sauberere Welt für die kommenden Generationen.

Ressourcenschonende Technologien

Mit der Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie setzen wir auf ein eisenbasiertes Speichermedium – und damit auf einen der am häufigsten vorkommenden Rohrstoffe der Welt.

Weltweit kostengünstigste Batterie

Mit der Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie streben wir konkurrenzlos niedrige Kosten von 50€ pro kWh an, um den weltweit günstigsten stationären Batteriespeicher zu entwickeln.

Wolken-Grafik

CO2-sparende Batteriespeicher

Mit der Vanadium-Redox-Flow-Technologie setzen wir auf eine bewährte CO2-sparende Batterietechnologie, die im Produktionsprozess 37% weniger CO2-Emissionen verursacht als vergleichbare Lithium-Batterien.

Technologien der “Next Generation Batteries”

Forschungslabor

Vanadium-Redox-Flow-Technologie

Die Vanadium-Redox-Flow-Technologie wurde in den 1970er Jahren von der US-Raumfahrtbehörde NASA entwickelt. Mit seinem internationalen Expertenteam hat VoltStorage die ressourcenschonende Speichertechnik in den vergangenen Jahren auf ein neues Level gehoben.

Iron-Salt-Technologie

50€ pro kWh: Dank der konkurrenzlos niedrigen Kosten und der hohen Verfügbarkeit des eisenbasierten Speichermediums hat die Iron-Salt-Technologie das große Potenzial, die “Next Generation Battery” zu sein und so die Zukunft der stationären Batteriespeicherung ohne Lithium zu prägen.

Two VoltStorage Researcher in the Laboratory

Vielfältige Anwendungsbereiche

Dank unseres multi-technologischen Ansatzes können wir wegweisende Batteriespeicherlösungen für sämtliche Anwendungsbereiche stationärer Batteriesysteme entwickeln: für Privathaushalte, für den gewerblichen Bereich und für industrielle Anlagen. Damit leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag für eine klimafreundliche Zukunft.

Gewerbespeicher

Mit der Vanadium-Redox-Flow Technologie und der Iron-Salt-Technologie verfügen wir mittelfristig über zwei Optionen, um auch Gewerbekunden mit hohem Energiebedarf technologisch dabei zu unterstützen, ihre Grundlast in wind- oder sonnenarmen Phasen abzudecken.

Industriespeicher

Für leistungsstarke PV-Großanlagen oder Windparks setzen wir mit der Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie auf eine konkurrenzlos günstige Speicher-Alternative, die das große Potenzial mit sich bringt, die Zukunft der Stromspeicherung zu prägen.

Weltkarte

Umgebungen mit hohen Temperaturen

Hohe Umgebungstemperaturen haben bislang die Etablierung von Batteriespeichern in klimatisch herausfordernden Weltregionen verhindert. Mit der Iron-Salt-Technologie setzen wir daher auf eine besonders temperaturresistente Batterietechnologie, die weltweit einsetzbar ist.

VoltStorage ist technologischer Marktführer

VoltStorage ist das führende Technologieunternehmen für stationäre Flow-Batterien. Mit seinem internationalen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsteam und der weltweit größten sich in Betrieb befindlichen Flow-Batterie-Flotte verfügt VoltStorage über weitreichende Expertise und Erfahrung.