Iron Salt
Technology
Iron Salt
Technology

World’s most cost-efficient battery technology

Unrivaled 50€ per kWh: The iron salt technology is destined to shape the future of battery storage beyond lithium, because of the widely available and low-cost iron-based storage medium. For 100% renewable energies around the clock and for a fairer and cleaner world for future generations.

How does it work?

The heart of an iron salt energy storage system is the redox flow battery unit. It is based on two battery half-cells through which liquid electrolyte is pumped in independent cycles. The half-cells are separated by a membrane and together form the full battery cell. The electrolyte is enriched with iron chloride. During charging or discharging, ions and electrons are transferred between the two half-cells, storing, or releasing energy in the electrolyte. In the uncharged state, both cells have identical oxidation levels; charging leads to reducing the electrolyte in one half-cell and oxidizing electrolyte in the other. Within the negative half-cell, the iron in the electrolyte is deposited as metal on the electrode. The battery capacity is dependent on the iron deposition: an increasing amount of iron deposition leads to a higher capacity. The reaction is fully reversible, and iron is re-dissolved in the electrolyte during discharging.

technological benefits

Frau auf Wiese bei Sonnenuntergang

Cost-efficient

With the iron salt battery technology, we can offer an unrivaled low-cost energy storage solution of 50€ per kWh and bring the world’s cheapest stationary battery storage to market.

Resource-saving

With the Iron Salt battery technology, we are using an iron-based storage medium – and thus one of the most abundant materials in the world.

Temperature resistant

Unlike lithium-based storage systems, Iron Salt batteries can also be operated at very high temperatures and can thus also be used in (sub-) tropical areas.

Suitable Applications

Commercial applications

With the iron salt technology, we provide a technological solution for commercial customers with high energy requirements to cover their energy needs during periods of low wind or low sunshine.

Large-scale batteries

For large-scale, high-power PV plants or wind farms, the iron salt battery technology will be an unrivaled low-cost storage alternative that has the great potential to shape the future of lithium-free electricity storage.
Weltkarte

High-temperature environments

High ambient temperatures have so far prevented the establishment of battery storage systems in climatically challenging regions of the world. We are therefore focusing on a particularly temperature-resistant battery technology that can be used worldwide and can thus be used in (sub-) tropical areas as well.

state of development

Successful lab validation

Together with our university cooperation partners we have conducted lab validation tests and successfully confirmed the vast potential of the iron salt battery technology. The results showed a long-term stability without capacity or performance losses at an efficiency of up to 78%.

Scaling up technology

An upscaled iron salt battery demonstrator confirms our long-term test results. This allows our R&D team and our university cooperation partners to speed up material and component selection and system development towards commercial and large-scale solutions.

Iron salt battery cell development

The battery cell development for iron salt based battery systems is already ongoing. We have leveraged our broad knowledge and proven experience from the development of our vanadium-based flow battery cells, which have already been patented in 2019, to make rapid progress in the iron salt development process.

Our cooperation partners

Why battery solutions beyond lithium are needed

10.65 TWh

are needed to power 100% of the USA batteries for 24 hours

If Lithium-Ion Batteries are used:

+ 2,665%

(2.1 Mio t)

of current global annual lithium production capacities is needed.

If Iron-Salt Batteries are used:

+ 2.0%

(2.1 Mio t)

of current global annual iron production is used.

Technological outlook

By bringing the iron salt technology to market, we are striving to offer the most cost-efficient battery storage solution worldwide. Thanks to the low costs and high availability of the iron-based storage medium, we are aiming for a target price of 50€ per kWh – significantly below the current price level for large-scale batteries based on lithium. Iron salt technology has all qualities to be the “Next Generation Battery” of the post-lithium era – and will make an important contribution in providing renewable energies 24/7.

Iron-Salt
Technologie
Iron-Salt
Technologie

Die Weltweit kostengünstigste batterietechnologie

50€ pro kWh: Dank der konkurrenzlos niedrigen Kosten und der unbegrenzten Materialverfügbarkeit des eisenbasierten Speichermediums hat die Iron-Salt-Technologie großes Potenzial, die Zukunft der Batteriespeicherung jenseits von Lithium zu prägen. Für 100% erneuerbare Energien rund um die Uhr und für eine gerechtere und sauberere Welt für zukünftige Generationen.

Funktionsweise der iron-salt-technologie

Herzstück einer Iron-Salt-Batterie ist das Redox-Flow-Batteriesystem, welches aus zwei durch eine Membran voneinander getrennten Batteriehalbzellen besteht, durch die in separaten Kreisläufen eine auf Eisenchlorid basierende Elektrolytflüssigkeit gepumpt wird. Im ungeladenen Zustand herrscht in beiden Zellen eine identische Oxidationsstufe – erst beim Ladevorgang erfolgt in einer Halbzelle die Reduktion und in der anderen die Oxidation des Elektrolyts. Es kommt zu einem Transfer von Ionen und Elektronen zwischen den beiden Halbzellen, die Energie wird so im Elektrolyt gespeichert. In der nun negativ geladenen Halbzelle löst sich dabei das Eisen aus der Flüssigkeit und heftet sich an die Elektrode. Je mehr Eisen hier gebunden werden kann, desto höher ist die Kapazität der Batterie. Die Reaktion ist vollkommen reversibel: Beim Entladevorgang wird das gebundene Eisen wieder vollständig im Elektrolyt gelöst.

technologische vorteile

Frau auf Wiese bei Sonnenuntergang

Kostengünstig

Mit der Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie streben wir konkurrenzlos niedrige Kosten von 50€ pro kWh an, um den weltweit günstigsten stationären Batteriespeicher bereitzustellen.

Ressourcenschonend

Mit der Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie setzen wir auf ein eisenbasiertes Speichermedium – und damit auf einen der am häufigsten vorkommenden Rohrstoffe der Welt.

Temperaturbeständig

Im Gegensatz zu lithiumbasierten Speichersystemen können Iron-Salt-Batterien auch bei sehr hohen Temperaturen betrieben werden.

vielfältige anwendungsbereiche

Gewerbespeicher

Mit der Iron-Salt-Technologie haben wir die Möglichkeit, Kunden mit hohem Energiebedarf bei der Deckung ihrer Grundlast in windschwachen oder sonnenarmen Zeiten zu unterstützen

Industriespeicher

Für leistungsstarke PV-Großanlagen oder Windparks setzen wir mit der Iron-Salt Batterietechnologie auf eine konkurrenzlos günstige Speicher-Alternative, die das große Potenzial mit sich bringt, die Zukunft der lithium-freien Stromspeicherung zu prägen.
Weltkarte

Umgebungen mit hohen Temperaturen

Hohe Umgebungstemperaturen haben bislang die Etablierung von Batteriespeichern in klimatisch herausfordernden Weltregionen verhindert. Mit der Iron-Salt-Technologie setzen wir daher auf eine besonders temperaturresistente Batterietechnologie, die weltweit einsetzbar ist.

aktueller stand der entwicklung

Iron-Salt-Batterie-Langzeitvalidierung

Gemeinsam mit unseren universitären Kooperationspartnern wurden erfolgreich Validierungstests durchgeführt, um das enorme Potenzial der revolutionären Iron-Salt-Batterietechnologie zu verifizieren. Die Ergebnisse demonstrieren eine Langzeitstabilität ohne Kapazitäts- und Leistungsverluste bei einem Wirkungsgrad von bis zu 78%.

Skalierung der Technologie

Durch den Aufbau eines Iron-Salt-Batterie-Demonstrators werden die bereits erzielten Testergebnisse auf Basis einer größeren Systemkonfiguration validiert. Dies wird es uns ermöglichen, die Material- und Komponentenauswahl sowie die Systementwicklung für gewerbliche und industrielle Anwendungen weiter voranzutreiben.

Iron-Salt-Batteriezellentwicklung

Die Batteriezellenentwicklung für Iron-Salt-Batteriesysteme ist bereits angelaufen. Dabei stützen wir uns auf unser breites Wissen und unsere bewährte Erfahrung aus der Entwicklung unserer patentierten Vanadium-basierten Redox-Flow-Batteriezellen.

Kooperationspartner

Warum speicherlösungen jenseits von Lithium erforderlich sind

1,6 TWh

werden benötigt, wenn man 100% der Batterien in Deutschland für 24 Stunden mit Strom versorgen möchte.

Bei Verwendung von Speicherlösungen auf Lithium-Basis:

400 %

(320.000 t)

der jährlichen Lithium-Fördermenge
würde man benötigen, um diese Strommenge
allein durch Lithium-Batterien bereitzustellen.

Bei Verwendung von Speicherlösungen auf Basis der Iron-Salt-Technologie:

 0,3 %

der jährlichen Eisenproduktion weltweit
würde man benötigen, um diese Strommenge
allein durch Iron-Salt-Batterien bereitzustellen.

Technologischer ausblick

Mit der Entwicklung der Iron-Salt-Technologie werden wir den weltweit kostengünstigste Batteriespeicherlösung anbieten können. Dank der niedrigen Kosten des eisenbasierten Speichermediums streben wir einen Zielpreis von 50€ pro kWh an – und liegen damit deutlich unter dem aktuellen Preisniveau für Großbatterien auf Lithiumbasis. Dank der konkurrenzlos niedrigen Kosten und der hohen Verfügbarkeit des eisenbasierten Speichermediums hat die Iron-Salt-Technologie großes Potenzial, die “Next Generation Battery” zu werden und die Zukunft der Batteriespeicherung jenseits von Lithium zu prägen.